Frequently Asked Questions
Q. Is a coggins required for IPHA shows?
A. Illinois State Law requires current Coggins Test, 12 months to date of show.
Q. Is a health certificate required for IPHA shows?
A. Illinois State Law requires a 30-day Health Certificate for out of State horses.
Q. I am new to Paints. What do I need to show as an amateur?
A. To be eligible to show in any amateur class you must have an APHA member number AND a valid amateur number for the current year. In addition, the owner of the horse must be related to the exhibitor. See the APHA rule book for addition details.
Q. What is the age cut-off for jr. horse?
A. APHA rule SC-185.D states that for performance classes, horses five years of age and under are "Junior horses" and horses six years of age and older are "Senior horses."
Q. How old am I?
A. Exhibitor ages are determined on your age as of January 1st. For determining age groups, you are considered to be that age throughout the show season from January 1st through December 31st "